Wednesday, 23 March 2011

Stevenson Kicks-Off Election Campaign In Banffshire & Buchan Coast

As the third session of the resumed Scottish Parliament ended at midnight on Tuesday 22 March 2011, SNP candidate for Banffshire & Buchan Coast Stewart Stevenson signalled the formal start of the election campaign.

Commenting, Stewart Stevenson said:

“I shall be standing for the Scots Parliament in the new Banffshire & Buchan Coast Constituency as an SNP candidate and looking forward to continuing to serve the people of the North-east, if elected, in the new session of Parliament.

“It has been an enormous privilege to serve the people of the now former Banff & Buchan Scottish Parliament Constituency, and I shall be very sad to be saying goodbye to the communities of Central Buchan, Hatton and Cruden Bay, who move into the new Aberdeenshire East constituency where my colleague Alex Salmond is the SNP candidate.

“I believe that the first ever SNP Government has an outstanding record of achievement which will stand us in good stead as we go into the election campaign. Over four years we have delivered a council tax freeze, saving over £300 for the average household, with more to come.

“As Scotland’s government we have abolished prescription charges, put an extra 145 police on the streets of Grampian driving crime to a 32 year low, re-started council house building, scrapped bridge tolls, restored free higher education for Scots students and invested in 25,000 apprenticeships for our young people in difficult times. We have 100 key achievements from the first four years of SNP Government and we have the vision to do so much more.

“I have been out and about with our teams of volunteers for quite some time now and the feedback on the doorsteps is very positive indeed. I look forward to engaging with the public even more in the next six weeks.”

The communities covered by the new constituency of Banffshire & Buchan Coast include Peterhead, Fraserburgh, Banff, Macduff, Cullen, Buckie, Portknockie, Findochty, Deskford, Grange, Drybridge, Rothiemay, Forglen, Whitehills, Inverboyndie, Boyndie, Pennan, Tyrie, Boyndlie, Gardenstown, Sandhaven, Rosehearty, Crudie, New Byth, New Aberdour, Portsoy, Sandend, Aberchirder, Cornhill, Fordyce, Lonmay, Crimond, St Fergus, Boddam, Rora, St Combs, Inverallochy, Cairnbulg, Rathven, Rathen.

Although the Scottish Government First Minister (Alex Salmond), Cabinet Secretaries and Ministers remain in post until a new team is appointed after the election, there are now no MSPs until the results of the election are declared on Friday 6 May.

Constituents wishing assistance in the meantime may contact the Westminster MPs for Banffshire & Buchan Coast, Angus Robertson MP (for those in Moray) on 01343 551111 or Eilidh Whiteford MP (for those in Banff & Buchan) on 01346 585362.
Email Address:
Telephone Number:
Message to Banffshire & Buchan Coast SNP:
This web site documents the activities of
Banffshire & Buchan Coast SNP.
There is no charge to the public purse
arising from the publishing of this site.
As publishers we do not gather, or
retain any cookie data but may do.

  © Blogger template Werd by 2009

Back to TOP